2017 – Maybe?

Um, Happy New Year?  Only 4 days late.

Reflection:  My goals for 2016 were the following:

  • Up my fitbit goals and exercise more
  • Make better choices with food
  • Be more patient with the kids
  • Try a new recipe a week
  • Go on a monthly date
  • Attend a social activity once a month
  • Finish decorating the house
  • Spruce up flower beds
  • Maybe, hopefully, possibly get started on the playroom and fence?
  • Read 40 books
  • Write 15 blog posts

Here’s how I actually did:

  • Up my fitbit goals and exercise more – I did okay with the fitbit.  I did some exercises.  I did NOT gain 100 pounds, so I consider this a success.  
  • Make better choices with food – I drank maybe 5 carbonated beverages all year.  I ate less fast food.  I snacked less.  
  • Be more patient with the kids – They’re still alive.  They say they still love me.  
  • Try a new recipe a week – Fine and good until ball season.  
  • Go on a monthly date – Hahahahahahaha.  
  • Attend a social activity once a month – Hahahahahahahaha. 
  • Finish decorating the house – I got a few things on the wall in the entry and purchased some things for our bedroom.  
  • Spruce up flower beds – We dug up the dreadful holly bushes and managed to kill some beautiful lillies in their place.  
  • Maybe, hopefully, possibly get started on the playroom and fence? – Nope. 
  • Read 40 books – 10
  • Write 15 blog posts – 3

I did not do well if you judge me according to the list I planned to keep on New Year’s Eve 2015.  However, here are some things I did keep.

  • I got (and have kept) a new job.
  • I kept going to graduate school.
  • I kept the same car.
  • I kept my children and husband fed, housed, and cared for.
  • I kept in touch with a few small groups of friends.
  • I kept my happy marriage.
  • I kept my sanity.  (I realize this is debatable.)

There is actually a lot to say.  Changing jobs has been one, if not THE, biggest learning experience of my life.  And I fully intend to write a long, detailed, heartfelt post about it when I have time.  But that’s the thing about 2017:  I haven’t had time.  Life is so fast, so busy, so demanding, that I’m just going with it for now.

Planning:  I heard a television character say recently, “New Year’s resolutions are for people with low self esteem.”  While I realize that’s not always true, it did give me pause.  What if nothing’s wrong?  Or nothing needs “fixing”?  If I’m content, why seek changes?  Why not live my life, and let the changes come to me?  It worked pretty well in 2016.  Plus, if I go in with few expectations, there won’t be cause for disappointment.

So here’s a list of things that may or may not happen in 2017.  It’d be cool if they did, but I’ll still be busy if they don’t:

  • Read some books
  • Write some posts
  • Finish grad school
  • Make a great yearbook
  • Watch a LOT of ball
  • Go to a beach or two
  • Be healthy
  • Keep keeping on

img_2308

Leave a Reply

