I think I’m being tested…

Have you ever had a day where you feel like everything that happens is to test you, your patience, and your will to survive the day?  THAT is clearly what today is like for me.  I have been at work for a little over an hour, yet I can see that this day is not going to be one of my best.  I miss my comfy bed, my kids, my puppy, and the comfort of not having to talk to people who try my patience. 

I went to bed last night at the same time as usual, praying the same prayer as usual — I thanked God for my amazing life and all my blessings.  I woke up this morning praying for help today as I endure this 12 hour workday that has potential to be difficult.  Boy, has it ever started out that way!

It bothers me that days like this make me question myself as a person and as an educator.  Why is it so difficult to be patient and kind to others?  Shouldn’t a person who chooses to work with young people always feel like they like and enjoy young people?  What kind of Christian thinks angry thoughts during every conversation?  What kind of teacher wants her students to shut up and go away?

So this morning, I find myself searching for inspiration that will keep me from pulling my hair out by the end of the day.  Here are a couple of quotes that I found helpful.

  • God’s way of answering the Christian’s prayer for more patience, experience, hope, and love is often to put him into the furnace of affliction. ~Richard Cecil              Maybe the answer to my prayer for patience is God giving me situations where I have to show myself that I do indeed have it, that I can act loving even when I’m tempted to be mean.
  • Isaiah 41:10  So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.          I am not enduring this difficult day alone, and I can depend on God to help me react to my surroundings the way that I know I should.

Perhaps, most importantly, is the certainty that I am every bit strong enough to endure a hard day.  I am blessed beyond measure and capable of facing any problem.  I think I can, I think I can, I think I can…..

Leave a Reply

